Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

Spring for some Weisendanger

Weisendanger Falls-1

Yesterday, I made my second outing this spring into the Columbia River Gorge. I paid a visit to Multnomah Creek, which feeds the world-famous Multnomah Falls before it plunges over 600 feet down to the Columbia River itself. Because of the that, the waterfalls above the main falls, such as it is, are often overlooked by photographers and hikers. But they are absolutely worth the visit, even if you don’t have a camera in hand.

In the photo above, Weisendanger Falls is shown in the background, with the onrushing creek coming straight at the viewer. Weisendanger is a 50-foot waterfall that pours into a beautiful little ampitheater, while just upstream sits the even taller Ecola Falls, which tumbles off a basalt ledge and around a sharp corner past the splash pool.

Downstream from Weisendanger, probably no less than another 200 yards, sits the multi-tiered Dutchman Falls. It’s one of the most scenic stretches of water that Oregon has to offer, and that’s saying something. In this shot, I played around with shutter speeds a little bit to get the detail in the water I was looking for. I used speeds ranging from 1/8 second to 15 seconds in an attempt to find as wide a range of looks as possible.

4 responses

  1. Great photo. How low did you get to the water? And maybe more interestingly, did you get wet? 🙂

    March 13, 2013 at 19:44

    • Thanks! When I set up my tripod for shots like this I usually just keep the camera about 6 to 12 inches above the water surface, depending on the spray. And to answer your second question, one has to wade into the middle of creeks and streams to get photos like this, but that’s why I bought a pair of chest waders last fall. They keep me dry at least up to the waist – unless I slip on a mossy rock and fall down entirely!

      March 13, 2013 at 19:52

    • Hi Mark, I set up my camera probably a foot or less from the water level. It’s pretty shallow where I was shooting, so wading in there isn’t a problem, despite the current.

      April 4, 2013 at 12:19

  2. Nice.

    March 14, 2013 at 02:23

Leave a Reply

