Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

Shooting the Milky Way

This is my first try at shooting the Milky Way, which fortunately presents itself nicely to us here in Oregon if you’re willing to travel away from urban areas. In this case, Mt. Hood provides a perfect backdrop and setting for long exposure night shots, despite a bit of light pollution from Timberline Lodge further up the mountain. This was taken last week during one of the last dry days we’ve had since then. I borrowed some settings from some more experienced astrophotographers and set off to see what I could capture with my aging D300S.

I was surprised by the results, actually. I didn’t expect to really come away with recognizable photos of the Milky Way, but 30 second exposures with my Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8 fisheye lens did the trick here, albeit not fantastically. This lens worked slightly better than my Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 wide-angle in capturing starlight, but I still am not sure why it was so noticeable. This image was shot on the road up to Timberline using my D300s at ISO 3200,  and the 10.5mm fisheye at f/2.8 and 30 seconds’ exposure.

The photo at right was taken with the 11-16mm lens, also set at f/2.8 and using a 30 second exposure at ISO 3200. For the age of the camera, I think it turned out fairly well for a first try, although the way these photos display on Word Press doesn’t seem to be the best. What do you think?

2 responses

  1. Nony

    A beautiful picture. It’s like magic. The children will probably love it.

    October 16, 2012 at 11:34

  2. The children seem to like the waterfall images the most!

    October 16, 2012 at 11:51

Leave a Reply

