Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

Ecola Falls, Columbia River Gorge

So, I’m changing the name of this blog to reflect the actual name I’m going to use professionally when I’m not on assignment for the newspaper or other publication. But I digress already. I went up Multnomah Creek this morning in the Columbia River Gorge in search of waterfalls and light and I found both. It was a little bit cloudy, which is perfect for waterfall photography, and it surprised me a little bit given how sunny and clear it’s been here in Oregon. It is mid-July, after all. Ecola Falls, shown above, was just one of the beautiful sights I found after a 1.7 mile hike to the top of Multnomah Falls and beyond. At peak flow, the spray is much more intense, I’m told. But here, the lower flow provides separate ribbons of water that really stand out in a photograph. Just another reason I love photographing the Gorge and its dozens of waterfalls in my spare time.

2 responses

  1. Beautiful shot! We hiked all the way up to Ramona falls last weekend and it was directly in the sunlight…darn! Get tired of the cloudy skies around here, but certainly makes for nicer waterfall photos 🙂

    July 14, 2012 at 12:42

    • Thank you! Yes, the overcast skies definitely help with the waterfalls, but I’ve found also that because the vast majority of falls in the Gorge seem to be more or less north-facing, they stay shaded until mid-day, sometimes earlier, sometimes later. But going just after dawn usually ensures you can get gorgeous results regardless of the weather.

      July 15, 2012 at 17:47

Leave a Reply

