Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

Columbia River Gorge waterfalls 7

Image

Here’s a horizontal view of Ponytail Falls in the Columbia River Gorge. I shot probably 1,100 or more photos in the gorge during the two weeks I was on vacation, and I am really enjoying being able to post a steady stream of interesting material here. This waterfall actually presents a nice photographic challenge, as it is easily accessible by day hikers, hence heavily photographed from the surrounding trails and other obvious vantage points. Admittedly, even wading into the stream as I did here is not difficult for anyone so inclined. But at least it gives a somewhat different perspective than someone who is only paying attention to walking behind the waterfall, beautiful as that can be. I guess I’m going to be getting up pretty early some mornings this summer, otherwise I won’t be able to find time to realistically continue with my Gorge series of landscapes, which is rapidly turning into my seasonal photo project. Does anyone else find that a single shoot ever turns into an ongoing obsession when you’re behind the camera? Don’t worry, it’s probably a good thing as a photographer, so I’ll go with it.

Leave a Reply

