Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls 4

With one day left of my stay-cation, I went a bit further east in Oregon’s Columbia River Gorge today and stopped at the Wahclella Trailhead, which begins a fairly easy one mile hike to Wahclella Falls, shown above. The natural amphitheatre where the water pools before continuing its journey downhill to the Columbia River is several hundred feet deep and provides a beautiful setting for water photography and other fun. I sank my tripod in the stream and continued shooting until I came up with something like the image here (Nikkor 20-35mm wide-angle zoom, ISO 100, f/14 and a 1.6 second exposure). Edit: I also need to mention that I set my variable ND filter to cut out roughly two stops of light, allowing the slower shutter speed. I can’t do this type of photo without the neutral density filter, although a circular polarizing filter also serves the same purpose under slightly darker conditions, while also cutting into any glare from the surface of the water.

I’ve been lucky the past two weeks in being able to explore the Columbia River Gorge more thoroughly than I normally am able to manage. It’s been great for my photography, which normally covers a wide range of photojournalist subjects, but not normally landscapes or waterfalls. And tomorrow I get to go back to that grind, albeit with better command of slower exposures.

2 responses

  1. Beautiful…has been perfect waterfall shooting weather lately as we haven’t had much in the way of sunshine!

    June 26, 2012 at 14:35

    • Hi there, I see from your own blog that you guys are fellow Portlanders! Greetings, and yes, the weather has been great for waterfalls and long exposures as of late. And as someone who decidedly does not thrive in, say, Phoenix, I can’t get enough of it! Thanks for checking out my blog.

      June 26, 2012 at 15:05

Leave a Reply

