Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

Columbia River Gorge 5

Wahkeena Falls in Oregon’s Columbia River Gorge has provided me with a wealth of photographs this week.  One result of this is that I cannot decide which I like better; the more distant images showing waterfalls or the many shots I’ve taken from the middle of the streams carrying water away from those waterfalls. I shot the creek above from numerous angles and perspectives, and in many of the photos I felt like the rocks resembled the heads of animals. This helped guide me in framing certain images, including this one, a 1.3 second exposure taken with a Tokina 11-16mm lens and circular polarizing filter at ISO 200 and f.11.

Leave a Reply

