Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

The Final Four and Portland prep basketball

Quick post for today. I’m not really a follower of the NCAA men’s basketball tournament, but I can’t help notice the Final Four is upon us once again. That quickly reminded me of a couple of games from 2010 when current Kentucky star Terrance Jones still was a prep terror at Portland’s Jefferson High School. Because of Jones’ NBA caliber skills, even then, I was able to get some really fun sports photography actions shots at the 2010 OSAA state championship tournament at the University of Oregon’s MacArthur Court.

Jones is dominant now in Lexington, but at Jefferson the gap between him and the competition simply was laughable. At least he seemed to be having fun as Jeff cruised to the 2010 5A state title with ease over Mountain View High of Bend (above and below). Now we’ll see if he can help lead Kentucky to the expected national title they covet. These photos also gave me a last look at the University of Oregon’s MacArthur Court, which now has been replaced as home of Oregon basketball by the sparkling new Matthew Knight Arena.

One response

  1. Great items from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior to and you’re simply too great. I actually like what you’ve got here, really like what you are stating and the way in which by which you are saying it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. That is really a tremendous web site.

    March 31, 2012 at 03:02

Leave a comment