Photography and photojournalism in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest

HDR landscape experiments

Okay, I’ll be the first to admit I don’t really know what I’m doing when it comes to HDR imaging. Sure, I can bracket my photos with the best of them, exposing for the shadows and highlights and all that. But putting together an HDR, or high dynamic range, image is pretty much an art form requiring a steady tripod, a good first exposure and sound taste when it comes to post-processing with Photomatix, FDR Tools or any other HDR software.

The image above is a three-exposure series shot at my favorite spring creek in Clackamas County, Oregon. I used a 50mm lens set to f.11 with the exposures two stops apart. Any input is welcome when it comes to this topic, as I’m completely and utterly experimenting with post-processing techniques I can’t really use as a photojournalist. That’s definitely part of what makes it fun, though.

2 responses

  1. Looks great, you have done a good job with the water. I think you should boost the colors and maybe it is to light in the back part of the picture.

    March 30, 2012 at 00:24

    • Thanks for the feedback!

      I’m sort of feeling my way forward with HDR images. This is actually the first one I’ve ever done, so I’m glad to know what needs work going forward.

      March 30, 2012 at 00:29

Leave a Reply

